Link

A Keats, Brawne Affair

In Keats’ words: 

  • A thing of beauty is a joy forever: its loveliness increases; it will never pass into nothingness.
  • I have been astonished that men could die martyrs for religion – I have shuddered at it. I shudder no more – I could be martyred for my religion – Love is my religion – I could die for that.
  • Philosophy will clip an angel’s wings.
  • There is an electric fire in human nature tending to purify – so that among these human creatures there is continually some birth of new heroism. The pity is that we must wonder at it, as we should at finding a pearl in rubbish.

Keats was the mere soul of ‘cozy’ love, even though his life was anything but. With Valentine’s Day so near, and it’s spirit everywhere, I could not help but indulge myself in some pure romance from a man to a woman with no haste or hiccup.

The Letters.

Even contemplating the idea of making a post everyday from his collection of poems and letters to celebrate love. Quite tempting, indeed. After all, it’s such a beautiful feeling (even if animal, haha!).

5 thoughts on “A Keats, Brawne Affair

  1. Pretty fine article. I just stumbled upon this site and I’d like to say that I have really enjoyed reading your articles. I’ll be subscribing to your feed anyway and I hope you’ll post again soon. Big thanks for the wholesome information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

